so WONDER.ful

Standard

Stevie Wonder. Legendary, Grammy Award-winning singer, songwriter and producer. One of the most celebrated figures in the entertainment industry, having amassed 32 No.1 singles and more than 100 million worldwide album sales. God on Earth. Seriously. There really aren’t any words to describe the magnificence of this being, but I’ll give it a shot :-).

When I was a child, I used to look at my parents’ Stevie Wonder album covers and think my dad was Stevie Wonder because they looked (and still look) so much alike!

For me, to listen to his music is like a production because I have to prepare to take his melodies and vocals (especially his unorthodoxed harmonies) in. I prepare because he makes me cry every time. Plain and simple. I mean; Living For The City, Village Ghetto Land, Overjoyed, Superwoman…the list goes on and on. I attribute his extraordinary talents to his lack of sight. I figure, if you can’t see anything, it just leaves room for imagination beyond belief.

Being a singer myself, I study his background vocals. And I do mean S-T-U-D-Y.  The chorus of richness and complexity he creates in multiple octaves are something I can only dream to achieve. His music is feel good music for all ages. I can pretty much guarantee there isn’t a single person who dislikes Stevie Wonder’s music. His sound is universal. I mean, who doesn’t sing, “I Just Called to Say I Love You“? Or my favorite anthem for seemingly all Black birthday parties, “Happy Birthday“! LOL!

I’ve never met Stevie Wonder and frankly, I’m frightened. I can see myself coming face-to-face with him, and before any word is uttered between us, I burst into tears like a dork! And I meeeean it from the bottom of myyyyyy heaaaaart!

Well, guess what? Tonight in ATL is:

An Evening Conversation with Stevie Wonder at 7:30 p.m. at Spelman College’s Sisters Chapel. Spelman College President Beverly Daniel Tatum will host a conversation focusing on Wonder’s journey as a musical artist, humanitarian and philanthropic leader. It’s FREE too!

It’s also a Q&A session. Man, I wish he was singing tonight! Either way, I’m there :-).

Hmmm….I wonder;  if I ask Mr. Wonder to sing, will he do it? Hey, that constitutes as part of a Q&A, right? I’m just asking!


Leave a Reply

