EAT YOUR GREENS!

Standard

As a child, I wasn’t a fan of green vegetables. Boy, I can remember my mom being on my case about eating them too!  I thought, “But why? They’re GROSS! Why are they green, anyway?” LOL! (pssst; don’t let my children know I said this :-))

Fast forward many years later when I become a vegan. I immersed myself into the who’s and what’s of the vegetables I loved and were good for me and discovered that CHLOROPHYLL is what makes the veggies green. I know, I should’ve learned that in high school biology, right?

Chlorophyll is a green pigment found in almost all plants and algae. It absorbs energy from the sun to facilitate photosynthesis in plants. Chlorophyll to plants is like blood to humans. Chemically, they are similar in composition, except the central atom in chlorophyll is magnesium, while iron is central in human blood.

Chlorophyll’s known benefits are:

* assists in the growth and repair of tissues

* helps in neutralizing the pollution that we breathe daily

* efficiently delivers magnesium and helps the blood in carrying the much needed oxygen to all cells and tissues

* neutralizes free radicals that do damage to healthy cells

* an effective deodorizer to reduce bad breath and body odor

* has anti-oxidant, anti-inflammatory and wound-healing properties

Chlorophyll is found in all sorts of delicious green vegetables like: alfalfa, broccoli, spinach, Swiss chard, Brussels sprouts, beet greens and kale. Also, when consuming raw, fresh and “living” foods, you get even more chlorophyll.

Chlorophyll extracts, chlorophyll liquid solutions and chlorophyll tablets are now widely available and can be bought in health stores. Whether they are in liquid or tablet form, chlorophyll benefits can allow you to enjoy a stronger immune system, strong set of tissues and organs, and a naturally healthy body and life.

Being a mom of vegan children, I can certainly appreciate it!  I incorporate raw kale salads into our meals, and put a tablespoon of liquid chlorophyll into their cups of spring water daily. Thanks Mommy for making me eat my greens!

Leave a Reply

