An Ode To Pineapple…

Standard

How do I love thee? (my sweet,sweet (and tart) pineapple- piña in Spanish, abacaxi in Portuguese, called ananas by the Dutch and French, nanas in southern Asia and the East Indes, and po-lo-mah in China)

Let me count the ways (hmmm…there’s sliced, diced, juiced, grilled, dried, frozen…)

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height (this herbaceous short-lived perennial plant grows to 3.3 to 4.9 ft tall)

My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight (which is quite often, for I eat pineapple DAILY!)

Okay, okay, okay. I’ll stop with the “on-bended-knee” get-up for this beloved fruit. However, my love runs DEEP for pineapple. So much so, that once at my baby shower (many moons ago), there was a “how-well-do-you-know-Jamila” game that the attendees played. One of the questions was, “What is Jamila’s favorite thing to eat?” LOL! Needless to say, if they didn’t know before that question, they SURELY knew shortly after! That and seeing the buffet table full of fresh cut pineapple…and nothing else. KIDDING!

Now, I would LOVE to get into more particulars of the pineapple, but I know YOU know exactly what I’m talking about. Nevertheless, for the studious readers visiting, there’s more than enough information here and here

I just wanna talk about eating it 🙂

Whenever I want to change up my pineapple eating regiment, I’ll:

***blend pineapple with blueberry, mango, kiwi and strawberry  for a tropical smoothie

***make a ‘deconstructed’ smoothie (a.k.a fruit salad- see my  “Coco Flo“)

carrot piña cupcakes w- vegan cream cheese frosting

***mix up a pineapple salsa to spoon over my vegan mahi-mahi steaks, or

***when dried, use as a decorative flower (thank you Martha) on my delicious carrot-piña cupcakes w-vegan cream cheese frosting.

Yes, I bake with it too!

You would think that at some point I’d write an article on pineapple the length of Homer’s “The Iliad” based on the way I’m swearing by it, right? Truth is, I have a bowl of pineapple spears sitting in front of me that I’m eager to dive into! Get it? Got it? Good! 🙂

One more thing; here’s how to cut a pineapple properly…CIAO!


One response »

  1. Man, you just gave me a major pineapple craving! AND why don’t you ever bring your baked goods to the events????? That cupcake looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

