babies’ mama’s MAMA

Standard
babies’ mama’s MAMA

Yesterday, the weather in Atlanta was unusually warm and I ended up at a playground with friends by the early evening. I sat watching kids running back and forth screaming at the top of their lungs, taking turns on swings, slides, and see-saws, as parents oversaw it all. It was a pleasant scene, and being a mother myself, a familiar one.

As I sat watching, I wondered how many of these children were brought into this world  via home birth, in the comfort of their own home versus the clinical hospital setting. It is more common these days for a child to enter the world with the assistance of science and medical or even surgical procedures as opposed to through the aid of a midwife equipped with experience, wisdom and guidance. Why does modern society deem home births as “outdated”, “crazy” or “risky” even? After all, until about 1900, midwifery was the standard.

Birth is natural and normal. It’s written in a woman’s genetic memory. I had natural childbirth (twice) in the comfort of my own home with the childrens’ father, my midwife and her apprentice. Giving birth as such made me feel EMPOWERED and INVINCIBLE!

Prior to hospital births being the “norm”, the midwife was a like a family member. Often a friend, or neighbor or community elder, a midwife helped usher babies into the world using the gift of her hands – and love. The work of the midwife included providing emotional support, encouragement, practical advice, guidance and medical care. Traditionally, midwives learn through apprenticeships where the knowledge was passed down. But it is also their personal connection to the mother and ultimately the child that truly make midwifery a special institution.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

During pregnancy with both of my daughters, I would meet with my midwife, Sarahn Agyriwah Henderson, regularly.  She taught me about natural childbirth as well as child-rearing. She helped me be confident in my natural abilities and in the divine bond between mother and child. She informed me of more natural ways to deal with laboring and delivery. I walked the entire time I labored, as opposed to lying down, allowing gravity to help make the transition move more rapidly. I learned to listen to my body and work with the contractions and make the experience be more comfortable. I was allowed to have a say in the well-being of my children in ways that we are often denied in a hospital birth (according to the stories my girlfriends who’ve HAD hospital births). All in all, I think it was pretty “fly” to have a natural and wholistic birthing experience. I’m proud that I took the homebirth “pill” (thank you Sauda for referring Sarahn to me) 🙂

my beautiful midwife, Sarahn

So to all you soon-to-be mamas and wanna-be mamas, remember: you’re not SICK; you’re having a baby! Get the facts. Compare and contrast and make the best decision for you and your family. For more information about midwives or to find one in your area, check out www.ictcmidwives.org.

7 responses »

  1. True indeed. I wasn’t able to have mine at home. But I did have my son naturally. 62 hours of labor. It was a beautiful experience. Difficult, challenging, but all worth it in the end. I also breastfed my son until he was 2 1/2 years old. I hope one day to marry and have another child this time using a midwife. Thanks for sharing your wonderful thoughts.

  2. 1. BEautiful 2. Thank you 3. I need to send you a new bar of soap… hopefully you are coming to Bombay Gal Sat Feb 12th for Embrace Beauty.

    Again Beautiful

  3. How wonderful these images are… Give thanks for sharing and your words are so profound. Yes, Sarahn is beautiful and so are YOU! I had natural childbirth three times, 1st with a mid-wife in a hospital setting, 2nd with my mother and sister attending at a hospital, 3rd at home “accidently” cause baby was ready to come quick. I wish I had made the conscious decision to have them ALL at home with a midwife… I shall inform my daughters to do just that!

  4. LOVE IT!!! I concur. I had my daughter Freedom in 2005 in the comforts of my Miami Beach home (two blocks from the beach) attended by my Midwife, Mother-In-Law (a registered nurse) and her Father. I was able to control my envirionment and I felt empowered though I’d never experienced the birthing process before. My midwife came to my home for all my visits. We would even meet on the beach for “counseling” I was petrified about the idea of delivering my child in a hospital. I vowed to never choose that route, as I knew doctors seemed to rather take the “easy route” (for them) and were giving c-sections and medication upon admission.. After moving to GA where my insurance would not cover a homebirth with a midwife I ended up with a midwife in at a ob-gyn office and delivered at North Fulton Regional. While my experience wasn’t as horrifying as I’d imagined it was far from comfortable. It was sterile and cold and lacked in comparison to my first pregnancy and delivery. In the event that I have another child I will for sure arrange it so that I have another homebirth.

  5. FATHERS ARE THE GUARDIANS AND THE HEROES

    This is so beautiful, the pictures are so great and touching. Thanks for sharing this information. I will pass it on. Please visit my website below.

    FATHERS HAVING VISION
    The creation of children is a social responsibility. Children are a gift to the community. It is the most positive contribution that mother and father can make to the community and the world by socializing psycholgically and socially wholesome children: mentally, spiritually, emotionally, and physically.

    Mothers inspires visions and builds the child’s intuitive nature. She has the strongest influence on the child from conception to 10 years of life. Father’s influence is strongest while building the youth’s mental natures and problem solving abilities from the ages of 10-18 years of age.

  6. Beautiful pictures, beautiful website!

    My daughter Lauren is a midwife and I am very proud dad that she was able to find herself.

Leave a Reply

