nosy about nose rings…

Standard
nosy about nose rings…

Lately my daughter has been asking me if she can get her nose pierced. I’m reluctant to say yes, though I don’t quite know why.

“I’m not sure about that”, I say to her.
“Why NOT? C’mon Mom just let me get one!” she exclaims, as if I’ve banged the gavel on any decision.

Then comes the best part: “Oooh Mommy, you’d look good with one too!”

TOTAL RIB SANDWICH!!! They are indeed beautiful on some people, however, in the case of my daughter, it’s her motives I question. Is it because a few of her friends have them? Does she want one for rebel status? Maybe if she can give some valid reason for the nose piercing or explain what it means to her, I’d take her a little more seriously. The reality is I’m not too knowledgeable on nose piercings myself, so naturally I did some research.

I learned the art nose piercing was brought to India in the 16th Century from the Middle East by the Moghul emperors. Both men and women wore them, though they were  and still are much more common on women. The practice has existed for centuries in many societies for many different reasons.

Highland Warrior, Papua New Guinea

Highland Warrior, Papua New Guinea

Male tribe members in New Guinea adorn their pierced noses with bones and feathers to symbolize wealth and virility.

India

India

indianwoman

indianwoman

Bonda girl

Bonda girl

Some do it as healing practices. For example, In India the outside of the left is the preferred position of the piercing as this is supposed to make childbirth easier. This is because Ayurvedic medicine associates this location with the female reproductive organs.

Those in other regions wear them strictly for adornment (like the Aztecs, Mayans, and Incas).

Nose rings even have religious ties. Hindu women have it in honor of Parvathi, the goddess of marriage. In some parts of India the nose ring is never removed once a woman is married even though today unmarried women and even young girls in India may also wear them.

Today, it’s pretty commonplace to see nose rings.  A few of my girlfriends have one (two even) and look gorgeous:

 

lotus.of.wadi

lotus.of.wadi

 

TT COLES

TT COLES

mama.mariposa

mama.mariposa

jasiatic

jasiatic

 

 

 

 

 

If my daughter’s smart, she’d read this excerpt to get her foot in the door, or rather her ” nose under the needle”. If so, I’ll be expecting a good read from her very soon 🙂

4 responses »

  1. I asked my mother at 14 and she made me research it. When I came back with the findings, she allowed it, then I got the second one when I was 16 and in my freshman year in college (my friend had a earring gun, lol).

Leave a Reply

