Happy 2nd AnniRAWsary!

Standard

It's My AnniRAWsary!

Me: Happy 2nd AnniRAWsary, Jamila!

Me: Thanks, Jamila!

::patting my OWN back:: :)

HA!

Well, well, well….lookie look! It’s been TWO years since I’ve eaten any cooked foods! I’m still on the RAW ROLLERCOASTER! Yes! Shoot, I’ve surprised myself like you would not believe.

(Here are the chronicles from my first year of “living foods”…)

When I was younger, I recall mentioning to myself–in passing– that I’d probably adopt a raw food diet by the time I turned forty or fifty. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I’d be doing it waaaaaaaay before the time I envisioned. Heck, I can’t even remember WHY I said that as a young woman. Premonition, I guess!

Now, am I gonna eat like this forever and ever? Only time will tell.

Nevertheless. here I am and I feel GREAT. So much so that I’d like to share my favorite cheesecake recipe with you, in celebration! I won’t eat mine all the way up–I’ll wait for you to make YOURS so we can celebrate together!

Now check out the video so you can get to baking–or rather, “un”baking! Enjoy…

Raw Cheesecake (serves 8-10)
 
For crust:
1/2 cup each RAW walnut, pecans, and macadamia nuts
1/2 cup dates, pitted
pinch of sea salt
1/4 cup dried, unsweetened coconut shreds
 
 
For filling:
 
3 cups RAW cashews
3/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
3/4 cup agave nectar
3/4 cup coconut oil
1 tbsp vanilla extract
water (if needed) to help blending (using no more than 1/4 cup)
 
 
For fruit sauce:
 
1 cup fresh strawberries (tops removed)
agave nectar (to taste)
 
 
To make the crust, in a high-speed food processor add walnuts, pecans, macadamia, dates and pinch of salt and process until finely ground. In a cheesecake pan (or a 9′ round cake pan), sprinkle coconut evenly on bottom BEFORE putting crust mixture down. Next, put crust mixture down even across bottom.
 
For the filling, in a food processor, put cashews, lemon juice, agave, coconut oil and vanilla in and blend until smooth and creamy. If needed, add a little water at a time to ensure creamy consistency. Use no more than 1/2 cup.
 
Pour filling on top of crust, smooth out the top with a spatula, following by placing in the freezer for an hour to solidify and obtain its shape.
 
For the sauce, in a blender add strawberries and agave and blend until smooth. place liquid mixture in squeeze bottle or simply use a spoon to apply over top of cheesecake, once it has been removed from the freezer.
 
Keep refrigerated. Enjoy!
 
8 responses »

Leave a Reply

